Summer, summer, summer….things heat up

Maybe one day in the future all the thinking a blogger does about their blog will show as a status update without being typed in. If that were the case now, there would be a modest billion here at bakingkookys.com.

I have been living without an oven to truly call home for 2 months now. We’ve been in real estate limbo until last month, staying with family or at longterm stay hotels. It didn’t work out, they probably could and should have said something sooner, but at least we finally got some sort of answer. ‘Florida’s own Tom Petty wasn’t kidding when he said the waiting was the hardest part. But, moving on, we had a plan, it’s a good one that still makes sense for us. We’re shopping for somewhere else, and we like several places we’ve seen.

I have newer ideas to bake and post. I have a goal of being seasonal and timely on this blog. I felt awkward and I was very concerned about making a mess in kitchens that weren’t mine while we are guests; but it’s been so long now I am eager to get back in the game. I am jumping back in this weekend, and planning to take precautions. For my first venture, its something very summery, and will involve chocolate and licorice.

My last post about cookies that celebrate unconventional events is on hold, maybe I will do it in August. August is sweltering, but it’s “my month” and I hope everything is going more smoothly at that time.

In other news:

  • At this time, I have written 9 stories for Eat This Charleston’s online feature, Local Bites. All those links appear here. I’ve had an excellent time meeting new people and telling their stories for this series.
  • I am working on a recipe book that will be e-published before Fall arrives; I get ideas for novels and other books that just have to be set aside for the time being.
  • I started writing Julia Cameron‘s morning pages with my morning coffee. It is a great way to clear your head of little distractions so you can get on with your creative work. I included a link via her name so if you haven’t heard of her you can check her out. The Artists Way was originally printed in the mid-80s and its such a classic most mainstream bookstores and libraries have a copy.

So anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to.

Leave a Reply

